ÇİĞDEM TOPÇUOĞLU: “My husband loved birds very much; wherever I go, a bird is following me since he was martyred”

Çiğdem Topçuoğlu — Turkish citizen, 2011 taekwondo champion, wife of martyr Çetin Topçuoğlu
(This face-to-face interview was conducted in Istanbul, Turkey, on 22 March 2011)

“My husband was shot while he was carrying the wounded in. While I was performing CPR, I felt something burst below my hand; it was such a bullet that it burst inside his body. Blood began to come out of his mouth and nose. I noticed that a bullet had pierced through behind his head, and he had bullets in his torso.”

“They interrogated me at the prison. Showing my husband’s pictures, they addressed me silly questions like, ‘Is this person your husband or not? How many Israeli soldiers did he kill? Which terror organization are you affiliated with? Why did you come here to occupy our lands?’ Their mistreatment lasted until we left the prison.”

Click the link below to read the full interview
CIGDEM TOPCUOGLU

*All rights reserved. No part of this book may be used or reproduced, in any form whatsoever, without written permission from the publisher/editor, except in the case of brief quotations given with reference to the book.

Leave a Reply

